Chinese Medicine and Women’s Health

Spread the word! Chinese Medicine is the single best alternative I know of for most women’s health conditions if you don’t want to use hormones (and I would recommend avoiding hormones as much as possible, including birth control pills). I feel like I can’t get this out there enough. Most women just don’t even know that there’s something else out there that can help them. I don’t know how many times I’ve said, I can help you with that, and heard, “Really?!?!” with astonished surprise.

If you are now wondering if it can help you or someone you know, the answer is probably yes. Pre-menstrual symptoms of all kinds? Yes! That includes irritability, bloating, breast tenderness, and just about anything else you can think of like acne, getting sick at menstruation time, and more. Painful menstruation or dysmenorrhea? Definitely! There is no reason to be in pain every month or to take Motrin every month and ruin your kidneys. Excess menstruation? A big resounding YES! So many women bleed too much and either live with it or think they have to take hormones. I’ve helped women slow mildly excessive menstruation, and even stop nearly hemoraegghic bleeding, all without hormones.

While women rarely come for this, Chinese Medicine can also help with scanty menstruation. It might feel great to only have a day or two of not much flow, but it’s actually not healthy. Is it coming too early or too late? We can regulate it. Are you having perimenopausal symptoms? Come on in! Acupuncture and herbs quiet hot flashes, improve sleep and focus, resolve skin conditions, help grow hair, and on and on.
I wrote last time about how I help women get pregnant. Once pregnant, Chinese Medicine is sometimes the only thing a woman can do to help alleviate her symptoms. I induce labors, and help with postpartum depression, milk flow, and mastitis, to name the most common.

Even if you have some kind of excess vaginal discharge, I might be able to help. If it’s mild yeast or bacteria, the herbs and acupuncture with probiotics have often done it. Of course, if it’s more serious, you need to go to your OB/GYN. Chinese Medicine also helps with conditions like fibroids, fibrocystic breast disease, endometriosis, and polycystic ovarian syndrome. These complex and deep seated patterns take some diligence to treat, but it can be done. About the only time I tell a woman I can’t help her is if her fibroids are too large. Chinese Medicine can reduce small fibroids if found early, 2 -3 cm or less, but any larger than that and it becomes more difficult. However, even while I might recommend surgery to remove them, I still recommend that they use Chinese Medicine to balance their systems to keep the fibroids from coming back, as they all too often do.

Do I sound adamant about this? It’s because I want so much for all women to know they have this choice. I don’t care who you go see, but you are not limited to hormones or surgery. There IS an alternative. If you have any women’s health condition, go find an acupuncturist who specializes in Women’s health. You will be like a recent patient of mine who said, “She’s helping me with so much! I never knew!”

Leave a Reply

