Empowering Women

Moving to my new clinic is a step in the right direction.  It’s been sad in many ways to leave my old group, I miss the people I worked with, all good people.  But venturing out to run my own practice again has been so uplifting.  It’s quite an adventure.  I’m following my dream the way I envision it, a little at a time.  An idea that came into being around a kitchen table, and that has been living in a back room in my brain for years, is slowly taking shape. 

That kitchen table talk years ago was about bringing together the experience and skills of at least two different kinds of women, to benefit as many other women as we could.  I had finished acupuncture school, become licensed, and was specializing in Women’s Health by doing a distance learning course with Bob Flaws, one of the foremost acupuncturists in the United States today.  My girlfriends and I were around the table of a wonderful friend of mine who ran writing groups for women.  We had all found the writing groups to not only benefit our writing, but to also empower us as women.  Writing and sharing in this environment bolstered our voices in ways none of us had anticipated.  We all felt stronger because of it.  Each woman went out into the world and did things she might have had trouble doing before. 

At the same time, I was seeing first hand the power of Chinese Medicine to directly help women’s health issues, reducing excess bleeding, alleviating pain and PMS and menopausal symptoms.  I was also seeing the effect feeling disempowered often had on women.  As clients opened up to me about their physical ailments, emotional issues invariable also came up.  One woman with severe eczema in her eyes was starting to get relief from the acupuncture and herbs, but it wasn’t going away.  Gradually, it came out that her husband was a very angry man.  She expressed difficulties with her marriage.  I realized based on both Chinese Medicine principles, and my own intuition, that these emotional issues were effecting her eczema.   I counseled her that she would need to deal with these issues in order for her eczema to completely clear.

This was quite upsetting to her at first.  However, with time, she began to notice the association herself, even saying to me that she noticed how the eczema flared when he yelled at her.  She tried to work it out with him, but eventually had to divorce and build a healthier life for herself.  With this empowerment, her eczema virtually disappeared.  I’ve seen this over and over again.  As we unravel the causes of women’s dis-ease, often there are emotional roots.  With the acupuncture, people’s thinking  invariably also becomes clearer.  For some, they realize it is their job that is driving them crazy, bringing out shoulder pains, headache, etc.  When the woman feels empowered to make changes, big shifts in her health occur as well. 

It will take some time to get there, but my goal is to build a women’s clinic where women can have access to other tools in addition to the acupuncture to empower themselves and make changes, tools like that writing group, therapy, rituals, support groups, meditation, whatever women find helpful.  I’ll be writing more about these different aspects in the future, and I also welcome your feedback about what you think and what you would like to see offered.

5 thoughts on “Empowering Women

  1. Keep up the good work Rhoda – one day your dream of a women’s health clinic will come true – of course I would like to see a support group for Polymyalgia/Fibromyalgia sufferers.

  2. Any progress in the clinic? I would love to know if you achieved your dream, I would be at your front door tomorrow. I am part of the healthcare treadmill right now and feel as if everyone is funneling me fast and furiously into aggressive treatment. We need an alternative.

    • Thanks for your support, Lisa!! The progress is that we have added having Breast Thermographies done at the clinic every 3 months! I am still treating all kinds of women’s disorders with Chinese Medicine, and we have an all women clinic right now, 2 acupuncturists, a chiropractor, and a massage therapist. Progress will speed up once I get my daughter all settled in college. Hope you are doing ok, sorry to hear you are having health issues and not getting the kind of treatment that makes you feel safe, heard and nurtured. We are trying to emphasize that. Take care!

Leave a Reply

